Indoor Bowling

Mark Dix-Cooper, Ruth Mennie and Sue Dix-Cooper were playing on the WPG team in the Inter-club Triples league at Pacific Indoor Lawn Bowling club and won the silver medal in the B level playoffs.  

There were 8 teams in the B level playoffs and they had to play the team that won the gold medal. They had a very exciting game which ended with the New West team winning 15-13.  If they had won the game they would have earned the Gold medal! Well bowled!!

Novice Singles Competitions

The Men’s and Women’s Novice Singles Competitions were held after our Pizza Night on August 15th, and there was some lovely competitive play. Ben Li won the Novice Men’s Singles, and Glen Peterson was the runner up. Heather Friesen won the Women’s Novice Singles, with Cherie Wong in second place and Anil Khan in third place. Congratulations to all competitors for some excellent games!

A Talk About Etiquette

Frank Kaweski presented a short talk to over 20 members, covering the most pertinent aspects of Lawn Bowling Etiquette. Here are the main points:

  • After greeting, there should be a coin flip (not a ‘kick of the bowl’!)
  • Participants need to take out their assigned equipment
  • The mat should be 1 metre past the bowls – move the mat rather than the bowls!
  • Pay attention, and be ready to bowl
  • Encourage others
  • Walk up the centre of the green, and around the Head to the back
  • Do not linger around the Head
  • Rakes need to be placed so they’re ready top be lifted and carried out (don’t encroach onto neighbouring rinks!)
  • When measuring both parties need to agree the result
  • Stand still behind the Head
  • Please be on time!

Canada Cup 2023

A beautiful sunny day heralded our Canada Day Celebrations. Frank Kaweski ably hoisted the flag on our pole. This flagpole originally came from Expo ’86 and the Plaza of Nations. After singing O Canada many members then competed in the Canada Cup, and there was also an Open Draw available for others. Special thanks to Kathie Draeseke for being the Canada Cup convenor, and thanks also to Jan Miko for organising refreshments, as well as Team Spirit cheers/poems!

This year we had 8 teams compete in the Canada Cup. Here are the final results: